Mumbai and London, Fish and Shoes, Kids and City Trains

So have been in Mumbai for 5 days, checking out my possibilities to work on a cargo ship.
It is not going to happen, yet.
I need more time for getting my seaman’s passport or CDC,  in order to legally work on any commercial vessel.
So i am going to postpone this either to Singapore or Thailand.

Tomorrow i am leaving mumbai and go to chennai because the chance of catching a private vessel is much higher, and also the distance is not as far if i have to pay for a passenger boat.

But this is trouble for next time.

From Gokarna i took the bus to Goa, where i wanted to meet some friends, but i couldn’t find a host near them, so i spend a night with another CS host in Mapusa.
From there i took the train in general Class to Mumbai

On the station i met a baba with the name of Anand, who walked barefoot for the last 8 years, he was really nice, invited me for a tea, and even tried to organize me a seat in Sleeper class.
Which did not work out…

IMG_093110 h drive..in this! Luckily i found a seat, BEFORE it was crowded.

Then i arrived at Thomas house.
IMG_0998(i seriously need to shave 😉 )
He has a big house and hosts a lot of couchsurfers, pretty cool guy!

Mumbai looks like i imagine London to be (i have not been there, but some english people agreed with me) pretty clean for indian standards, bus and train system…
Probably because it is the biggest harbour of India, and has a lot of victorian style buildings.

IMG_0947IMG_0976IMG_0936IMG_0942IMG_0935

 

When i was wandering around in the city i found myself in funny situations a few times.

IMG_0949

The kids gang, we played football together and i taught them a little bit beatboxing, in exchange, they took me to the Gate of India
IMG_0951

on the way, we passed through a market…a little macabre for western standards, but the meat is fresh, which is not always the case here in india. (I don’t care anymore as i became vegetarian in Dharamsala)
IMG_0950The Gateway of India, very impressive building, but a lot of people!
IMG_0964IMG_0957IMG_0963

IMG_0959relaxing

When we had the quiz some people did not recognize the color of my shoes anymore, so i went to one of the cleaners

IMG_0965and now they are shiny again 😉IMG_0966

Another funny thing happened to me, i followed my nose and came here:

IMG_0979The Mumbai fish market…well one of themIMG_0977IMG_0981IMG_0988IMG_0986IMG_0983IMG_0982IMG_0991IMG_0989

In India, it is funny, that whenever you leave the tourist trails, people handle you in a completely different more heartwarming way.
They are not used to white people most of the time.
And the people here are happy to see, that i am interested in them.

The city trains here a packed.
Mumbai only has 19 million inhabitants (New Delhi has 27 million) but Mumbai has less space, so it is way more crowded…in the trains.
IMG_0968The doors remain open during the drive, because sometimes you have to get out before the train stops in order to get out at all…
IMG_0938and if the train is to full, you can grab on to somebody 😉
IMG_0967IMG_0970But if the train is full, the normally have a good time together…

And one last thing happened on my daily sunset hunt, i was following the view, when i was in a slum all of the sudden.
Small indian children who have never seen somebody like my…
“who is scared of the white man?”
But in the end i could convince that i don’t bite and even the most afraid ones shook my hand 🙂
IMG_0996So long Ole

P.s. i think it is awesome that people read this, who i have never ever seen in my life.
If you do don’t be afraid to comment, or take part in the quiz…
if you have questions, i will gladly answer them.
This goes out to everybody of course 🙂https://i0.wp.com/distilleryimage11.s3.amazonaws.com/63bee9263af011e2854522000a1f9e45_7.jpg

 

7 thoughts on “Mumbai and London, Fish and Shoes, Kids and City Trains

  1. Thank you, dear Ole! Your last new books of travels and pictures are very interesting and beautiful again, a number of things quite exciting even!; the best: your meetings with indian people!, but other discribed things (e.g.buildings, foods, animals) are interesting too.
    The best of best: the pictures with Ole! You are good looking, great guy!
    Although Mumbai is the biggest harbour, there isn´t a single vessel to give you a lift!?! Sorry, you are in Chennai now, not in Mumbai. However, you will get on! Let recover your stomache! I keep my fingers for your health and for your pleasant and protected further travel.
    The movie “the life of pi” will start in our cinemas at Christmas, than I will see it. It seems to me, it´s a very exciting film. I watched the trailer, how you recommended me.
    Sorry for my many mistakes! Nevertheless I try to write in English, it´s good for my mind, I think.
    I believe I have written to much, besides it´s late, therfore I´ll switch off the PC.
    Good night or rather good morning! Dearest greetings from UM! It´s quite cold here and we have even some snow. A lot of hugs!

Leave a Reply

